The Law Office of Darin Siefkes Texas Lemon Law

Vehicle Lemon Law in Texas

Before the Texas Lemon Law was instituted, people purchasing vehicles had few options for claiming damages against a manufacturer who produced and sold a defective vehicle. A lemon, as it is commonly referred to, is a faulty vehicle that experiences a severe breakdown within its warranty. Although manufacturers usually offered to repair lemons, they would lose a great deal of money because of the depreciation of the vehicle.

Lemon Law Lawyers Serving Texas

Vehicle Lemon Law in Texas is unique to the Lone Star State. If your car was purchased, repaired, or registered in Texas, your car is protected by the Texas Lemon Law statute. These laws can be confusing for the uninitiated, but a Lemon Law lawyer like Darin Siefkes can guide you through the process of settling your claim. Even if your vehicle doesn’t meet the definition of “lemon” it may be protected under other Texas statues.

4 Common Questions About New Vehicle Lemon Law in Texas

Most people aren’t familiar with the exact workings of Lemon Law. When you accidentally purchase a lemon, a Lemon Law lawyer can help you find the answers to common questions such as:

Why Should I File a Claim?

By filing a claim against the automobile manufacturer, you can receive indemnification for your lemon in the form of a repurchase, a brand new model, or monetary compensation.

How Do I Know My Vehicle is a Lemon?

There are an array of tests that can be utilized to establish the presumption that your vehicle is a lemon. The Four Times Test, the Serious Safety Hazard Test, and the 30-Day Test can be used to make this determination. Contact the Law Office of Darin Siefkes, PLLC to learn more about these tests.

How Long Do I Have to File My Claim?

You should always aim to address legal issues as soon as possible, and lemon cases are no different. The longer you wait, the less compelling your argument. Plus, evidence has a tendency to grow “stale” over time if you don’t act quickly. The ‘statute of limitations’ for Lemon Law cases in Texas requires the purchaser to file a claim within six months after one of these events:

  • 2 years from the original delivery of your vehicle
  • After the vehicle has been driven 24,000 miles
  • After the warranty expires

If you would like to learn more about new vehicle Lemon Law in Texas, please submit our free case evaluation form.

Disclaimer: The information contained in this article is for general educational information only. This information does not constitute legal advice, is not intended to constitute legal advice, nor should it be relied upon as legal advice for your specific factual pattern or situation.