A Lemon Law Refresher – TEXAS LEMON LAW

The Law Office of Darin Siefkes Texas Lemon Law

A Lemon Law Refresher

In the Lone Star State, lawmakers understand that motorists shouldn’t be held liable for a vehicle that came equipped with coasters, heated seats, and a plethora of manufacturing defects. That’s why they passed the Texas Lemon Law, a law designed to provide motorists with relief in the event that their newly purchased vehicle happens to be a lemon. But like many laws, the Texas Lemon Law has a number of stipulations that must be carefully adhered to. 

In this article, we’ll be providing a refresher on the Texas Lemon Law and discussing steps in the claims process. Staying up to date with the Texas Lemon Law is crucial for obtaining relief and turning lemons into lemonade. If you’re asking, “What is the lemon law in Texas?” consult an experienced lawyer from the Law Office of Darin Siefkes, PLLC. 

What Does the Lemon Law Cover? 

If it’s newly purchased, covered by the manufacturer’s original warranty, and has wheels, it’s probably covered by the lemon law in Texas. As stated on the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV) website, “New vehicles, including cars, trucks, vans, motorcycles, all-terrain vehicles, motor homes, towable recreational vehicles (TRVs), and neighborhood electric vehicles that develop a defect(s) covered by a manufacturer’s written warranty” are covered. 

Related: What Is an Express Warranty? 

Is My Vehicle a Lemon? 

It’s not enough for your vehicle’s check engine light to come on. In order for your malfunctioning vehicle to be considered a lemon under the lemon law in Texas, it has to be repaired not once, not twice, not thrice, but four times by an authorized dealer. These repairs must occur within the first 24 months or 24,000 miles, whichever comes first. This four-times test is pretty straightforward; however, there are other ways of determining whether or not your vehicle is a lemon.

If your vehicle has been out of commission for a total of 30 days or repaired twice for a serious safety-hazard during the first 24 months or 24,000 miles, whichever comes first, your vehicle qualifies as a lemon. Just be sure to hold on to any and all repair orders and records that support your claim.

Related: Lost Your Repair Invoices? Consult the Dealer

Do I Get a New Car? 

Not necessarily. Depending on the specifics of your case, the TxDMV will elect to refund, replace, or repair your vehicle if you win. If repair is elected, the manufacturer must then repair the vehicle, which is what got you into this situation in the first place. And if a refund is elected, you will be refunded the full purchase price of the vehicle minus a charge for using it. Working with an experienced attorney is essential for obtaining the form of relief that is most beneficial for you. If you have your heart set on a new car, work with the Law Office of Darin Siefkes, PLLC. 

If you are asking, “what is the lemon law in Texas?” and would like to speak with an experienced attorney, please submit our free case evaluation form today.

Disclaimer: The information contained in this article is for general educational information only. This information does not constitute legal advice, is not intended to constitute legal advice, nor should it be relied upon as legal advice for your specific factual pattern or situation.